Questions and Answers
Your Questions About Learner Driver Insurance
I was on my mums insurance as a learner driver, and now i passed. Am i automatically insured now as a R driver?
I passed a few days ago and am wanting to know am i aloud to drive by myself or do i have to tell the insurance company i am a R driver?
btw i’m from Northern Ireland.
Still on mums insurance right stil covered to drive it
My son just got his drivers permit in California can we drive with just my name on the insurance?
I went to my insurance company to try and add him, because my understanding is you need to be on the policy to drive the car? He has a permit so I must drive with him. The insurance company said I cant add him because he has no license. So is it legal for him to drive the car with me in it? And will he be okay at the driving test if he is not on my insurance? He is 21 years old.
When he is driving with you, or another person, and he only has a learner’s permit, he is covered under the supervising person’s insurance. When he goes to take the test, as long as you (or whoever goes with him) has valid insurance, then there will be no problem.
As soon as he gets his license, assuming that he is still living with you, he will have to be added to the policy in order to drive. In fact, as unfair as it seems, he should not drive home after he passes the test, but rather he (and his new license) should be a passenger in the car until he is added to the insurance policy.
What age do you have to be to get a motorcycle leaners permit in NC?
I’m 15 i’ll be 16 in February, and I really need to drive. I don’t have enough money to buy a car and put gas in it, so I was going to get a motorcycle or scooter. Am I old enough to get the permit now? If so how do I go about getting it? And what are the restrictions of a learners permit for a motorcycle? I know on a car you have to have a licensed driver with you, but that’s not always possible on a motorcycle.
In NC you can drive a 49cc or less scooter without any license or insurance. You just need to wear a helmet. Those scooters are cool for commutes to school or work or just trolling around town. Definitely not for highway use.
What can I do now that I have my motorcycle permit?
I’m living in Illinois (also an IL permit, fyi), and I’m not sure if I’m now able to ride on my own, when i’m able to ride etc. I’ve heard that I need someone over 21 ‘supervising’. Does anyone know if there’s a penalty for not riding with an over-21 adult? Also, insurance-wise, what do I need to do once I buy my motorbike?
There are two types of motorcycle licenses in Illinois. The Class L type is for motor-driven cycles with an engine displacement of 150 cubic centimeters or less. The Class M license is for motorcycles with a displacement of 151cc or more.
Teens 16 and 17 years old can obtain a motorcycle license by following this process:
1. Apply for a learner’s permit (also known as an instructional permit) for a conventional license.
2. Attend and complete a driver education course at school.
3. Apply for a 12-month motorcycle learner’s permit.
4. Study the Motorcycle Manual and the Rules of the Road.
5. Enroll in the 20-hour Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) Motorcycle Rider Course. This course is free. Find out more by calling IDOT’s Motorcycle Safety Project at (800) 892-9607 or (800) 642-9589.
6. Hold your learner’s permit for at least three months. During this time, you are allowed to ride the motorcycle only in daylight hours while supervised by a qualified motorcyclist.
7. Pass the motorcycle road test at any local Secretary of State driver services office.
A new motorcycle license costs $10.
If you are 18 or over, most of the same requirements still apply. The main exception is that if you complete the IDOT Motorcycle Rider Course, you can waive the road test. The fee for the first-time Class M or Class L endorsement is $10. Renewals are $5.
Riders will be expected to demonstrate proper control of the motorcycle at all times. This will include starting it, making slow and fast turns, driving in traffic, and stopping safely and smoothly. The Motorcycle Manual offers detailed information on how to execute the moves that will be required on the test. The manual also provides sample questions for the written portion of the test.
You have to have your bike insured before riding it on the road (legally). Buy a bike, call an insurance company and negotiate insurance, pay them (or they will bill you) and they send (snail main & possible e-mail) proof of insurance for the bike. Carry the proof when you ride.
Lastly, IL is a helmet-optional state. Take the right option & wear a helmet. I recommend a full face helmet, if you like yourself when you look in the mirror in the morning.
Do I have to take another written test to get my DL in Florida?
I live in Orlando and I’ve had my permit for a year. It is now time for me to get my driver‘s license and I’m not sure what will happen when I go into the DMV. Will I only have to take the driving test, or will I have to take both the driving test AND a written test? If I do have to take a written test, does anyone have any online study materials I can use? THANKS!
You already took the written test. You only need the driving test now. This is from the Florida HSMV site below:
Intermediate License (16 and 17 year old) – To earn an operator’s license, you must be at least 16 years old AND have held a learner’s license for at least one year without any traffic convictions.
You must provide:
• A Florida Learner’s License or a license from another jurisdiction.
• Parent or guardian certification that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night.
You are required to take:
• Driving test and perform certain driving maneuvers. Please refer to the Florida Driver Handbook for specifics or present a waiver from an accepted driver education course. You are required to have a current registration and insurance on the vehicle at the driving test.
With your Intermediate License, you may:
• 16 years old – only drive between 6 a.m. And 11 p.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or you are traveling to or from work.
• 17 years old – only drive between 5 a.m. And 1 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or you are traveling to or from work.
What to expect from getting a ticket for driving without a permit?
Yesterday, I was out with my mom practicing driving, and I ran my car into the window of a clothing store :/ I was given a ticket for driving without a license or permit, which included a fine and a day in court. Because I have yet to start drivers ed (which one needs to take in texas to receive their permit), I was wondering if having this ticket on my record would impede me from getting my license or permit in texas? Thanks so much in advance
Yes it could. If they wish, they can prohibit you from getting a permit until you are 18. And “congratulations” to your mom for letting you drive on the public streets without a valid learners permit. Tell her that her insurance, if she has it, probably will NOT cover any damage claim brought by the store. She should know better.
If I was involved in a car crash would my license get taken away?
I got in a car crash with my friend, it was within my first year of passing my test. On the scene we exchanged insurance info and all that and the other guy admitted it was his fault. I was wondering since it is my first year of driving would i get my license taken away even if it wasn’t my fault?
You can have your licence revoked and be made a learner again by the New Drivers Act if you get 6 or more licence points in the first 2 years after passing.
If the Police were involved after the crash and they decide to prosecute you and you get 6 or more points the above will happen to you – otherwise it will not and your licence will be unaffected
Powered by Yahoo! Answers